Burn Pile Beauties

I only have  2 items to share with you this week, but trust me, once you see these pictures and understand that both of these beauties would have been burned, I  hope you realize how wasteful we humans are.

Not only are these 2 pieces 100% real wood, they hail from an era of grace and dignity. Where pride of ownership meant you passed items down to be loved and cherished by another generation.

Strangely, I seem to be one in only a handful of others who can see past the dents and cigarette burn marks, the scratches and missing drawers, to what lies beneath and to “the what” each forgotten, tossed and outdated item can become.

DSC03125

Destined to be torn apart by the sledge hammer, this dresser was missing both drawers. Knowing that solid maple dressers are not made anymore, I persuaded the young man who was about to demolish it to let me take it away.

DSC03127

With the addition of shelves, fresh paint and wire baskets this condemned lovely now has a new lease on life. What a stylish statement this now makes, picture it gracing the front entrance way of any house. While it’s chalk board painted tags keep each basket’s new owner completely organized.

DSC03128

Left out in the rain overnight, the drawer in this quaint little teal blue bedside table would not open. It’s getting burned I was told when I inquired about it.

For a small donation I picked it up and put it in the back of my van. Within an hour of being in the house it had dried out enough for the wood to shrink back down to normal and the little drawer opened once again! After peeling the Nascar stickers off the top I chose to keep the teal blue and just give it a good scrubbing with hot soapy water.  Accepting the chippy paint, I added the damask wall paper as a drawer liner and ta da a new beauty is born!

DSC03130

Both pieces will be for sale this Sunday in my booth and I know once I tell their stories to the prospective owners these happy ending tales will be told over and over again making memories that will be passed on from generation to generation.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and I’d love to hear from you! Please, don’t be shy – tell me what you think!

andi

Categories: Furniture | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Burn Pile Beauties

  1. Mindy Pitre

    Love the dresser!!!! How much?

  2. Incredible tranformation!!!! I love it!! I would name it the Phoenix Dresser!!
    Laura AKA Karen\s cousin
    p.s. also love the side table!

  3. Jeanette Bremshey

    LOOOVE!

    Date: Fri, 29 Mar 2013 23:36:42 +0000 To: jbremshey@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

