A Sign-tilating Post

Lucky me, I had the opportunity to make a one of a kind sign. Rick has his own radio collection and wanted a sign to reflect his love of them and one that looked something like my booth sign. It was a super fun project and think it turned out pretty good.

DSC03066 

By adding the back of an old radio, 2 glass fuses, hinges and chain we have the junky old feeling that Rick wanted.

DSC03067

DSC03069

My best friend Jeanette thought I had lost my mind when I screamed in excitement at finding this amazing ceramic cow’s head. But  she knows how excited I get when I find these tres cool things and excepts me just the way I am.

Mounted in an old window that I found in the basement of our house I love the colors and feel of this sign. It will be perfect in the kitchen of some lucky cow lover.

DSC03072

Here’s a funky old cabinet door turned chalkboard for my friend Peter. He’s another person who loves rusty old hardware, distressed wood and making something practical out of junk.

The pair of antique irons were the perfect bookends when I first spied them and placing them on either side of 100 year old books was a no brainer.

DSC03073

Lastly, this lovely old piece of leather luggage was destined for the garbage pile when my pal Pauli showed it to me. I just adore old luggage and the things that you can do with it.

I really wanted to give it some presence so I screwed the old books to the bottom of it and decoupaged the book sleeve from the Flemish painters book to the top. It’s now a beautiful piece of storage that will look gorgeous on any book shelf.

DSC03074

DSC03075

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

andi

Categories: Painting Projects | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Sign-tilating Post

  1. Mindy Pitre

    Hey you, how much for the pig sign? My girlfriend has a farm in Canton…

  2. Dave Barnes

    Wow!! Very nice stuff, especially the luggage piece. All’s good here, just gently getting older..

    D

  3. mindy

    ahahaha. not sure why i said a pig! lol.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

